Summer sin. And greater grace.

Day 3 of summer break, and I feel burdened, so burdened under sin. Under my sin, under my nature, under that evil which I do not want. This sin which dwells in me…it acts so strongly, doing the very thing I hate. With the psalmist I recognize, Against You, God, against You only, I have sinned. And I lament with the apostle, Wretched man that I am! Who will set me free from the body of this death?

But quickly, oh, how quickly am I reminded, and how quickly is my heart directed to even more praise. Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord! For there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.

What mercy! What abounding mercy has been granted me. What grace! What amazing grace, and how sweet the sound, indeed.

He will perfect this good work in me until the day of Christ Jesus, and while I remain in this body of sin He will not allow me to be tempted beyond what I am able. Do I believe these words, inspired by the Holy Spirit? I cry with the boy’s father, I do believe, help my unbelief! Oh, Heavenly Father, give me faith and give me strength. Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.

Ps 51. Ro 7, 8. Php 1. 1Co 10. Mk 9.

Leave a comment