Lines Abound

Psalm 16:6.

My NASB has it as,

“The lines have fallen to me in pleasant places;
Indeed, my heritage is beautiful to me.”

Last night at Bible study, though, James read the verse for us, and it read,

“The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places;
Surely I have a delightful inheritance.” (NIV)

Now, I’ve come to prefer my NASB (or the ESV or NKJV) as a translation that makes no interpretation; the interpretive work is left (and rightly so, in my opinion) to the reader. However, this is an instance where the translator’s interpretation has helped me. Seeing the descriptive “boundary” shed so much light on this verse, and how it applies for me at this moment.

Relational issues have abounded this past summer. Well. Not issues. I wouldn’t call them that. But relational confusions, certainly. I’ve been confused about God’s timing for relationships, dating, marriage, and been somewhat questioning His plans. But this verse… Reading it and understanding the psalmist’s intentions in describing the “boundary lines”… It’s so comforting! And such a reminder. The Lord has set His boundaries around my life. And I should, with the psalmist, be able to say, “The boundaries that God has set for me are pleasant.” In other words, “I trust His timing.” I should know that God sees the big picture, and that His sovereign will is for my best.

Doubt is unnecessary. Doubt is uncalled for! The hard part, of course, is living in light of what I’ve now seen. But I pray that God will bring this passage to mind when I doubt, that He will give me faith in His will and timing, and that He will continue to prepare me for the future in store.

Leave a Reply

